التبول اللاإرادي عند الأطفال والمراهقينل

عرف التبول اللاإرادي أو السلس البولي على أنه التدفق العفوي الغير إرادي والمتكرر للبول أثناء النوم عند الأطفال من سن الخامسة فما فوق، نقول أن الطفل لديه سلس بول أساسي عندما تنعدم سيطرة الطفل على المثانة تماماً، أما السلس البولي الثانوي فيكون عند عودة التبول اللاإرادي للطفل بعد فترة ستة أشهر من الليالي الجافة.

على الرغم من أنه ليس اضطراباً طبياً خطيراً، إلا أن التبول اللإرادي يوثر سلباً على شخصية الطفل وعلى مدى انطلاقه في المجتمع، كما يسبب الضغط النفسي على أسرة المصاب برمتها. تكمن مفاتيح الحل لهذا الإضطراب في الفهم الجيد والصبر، ومن المريح ذكره هنا أن هذا الإضطراب غالباً ما يشفى من تلقاء نفسه مع مرور بعض الوقت.

متى يتوقف التبول اللاإرادي؟

يتوقف (%85) من الأطفال عن ترطيب أسرتهم من سن الثالثة وقبل بلوغهم سن السادسة. يحدث هذا لسببين. أولاً ، ستبدأ المثانة في إرسال إشارة إلى الدماغ تقول إنها ملئى بالبول، كما سيعيد الدماغ إشارة تُخبر المثانة بالاسترخاء حتى تتمكن من حمل المزيد من البول. ثانياً، إذا كانت المثانة لا تستطيع الاحتفاظ بكامل البول طوال الليل، فسوف تستمر في إرسال الإشارات إلى الدماغ حتى يستيقظ الطفل للذهاب إلى الحمام.

فيما يتعلق بالأطفال المتبقين (%15)، سيحدث التبول اللاإرادي إذا كان هناك تأخير في تعلم إحدى المهارتين السابقتين أو كلاهما. لكن في أي عمر يجب أن تقلق؟

أولاً، إذا كان طفلك قد تخطى سن الخامسة ولا يزال يتبول لاإرادياً بشكل دائم أو متكرر، مع تولد مشاعر الإنزعاج والإحراج عند الطفل عندها يتوجب عليك اصطحابه الى طبيب المسالك البولية.

من المهم إدراك أن عملية التبول ليست تحت سيطرة الطفل في هذه الحالة، ويجب على الآباء طمأنة الطفل بأن التبول اللاإرادي ليس خطأه. إن إشارات الاتصال في مجموعات الأعصاب والعضلات التي تربط الدماغ بالمثانة معقدة للغاية، وهذا ما يفسر تحسّن التحكم في المثانة مع تقدم العمر مع نمو الطفل.

ثانيا ، إذا كان الطفل قد بلغ سن الدخول الى المدرسة وهو يعاني من سلس البول، هذا عادةً ما يبرر التدخل الفوري لطبيب المسالك البولية، خاصة إذا كان سلس البول متكرر وكان الطفل مكتئباً منه.

أسباب التبول اللاإرادي

معظم الأطفال لا يعانون من مشكلة مرضية من وراء التبول اللاإرادي. ومع ذلك، فقد أظهرت الدراسات الطبية زيادة خطر في التبول اللاإرادي إذا كان أحد الوالدين أو كليهما قد عانى من التبول اللإرادي في صغره. سبب التبول الليلي الأساسي هو وجود تباين بين سعة المثانة وإنتاج البول، وفشل الطفل في الاستيقاظ استجابة لمثانة كاملة. أما سلس البول الثانوي يعد أقل شيوعا ويكون ناتجاً عن مشاكل نفسية أو سلوكية.

كما نرى، فإن التبول اللاإرادي ظاهرة معقدة، ويمكن أن تشمل الأسباب الجسدية والنفسية:

  • عدم وجود انخفاض في إنتاج البول في الليل: يقوم الجسم بإطلاق الفازوبريسين في الليل، ويقلل هذا الهرمون من كمية البول التي تصنعها الكلى ليلاً. ويعتقد أن بعض أجسام الأطفال لا تنتج ما يكفي من هذا الهرمون، مما يؤدي إلى التبول اللاإرادي.
  • تناقص ﻗﺪرة اﻟﻤﺜﺎﻧﺔ: ﻏﺎﻟﺒﺎً ما ﻳﻜﻮن ﻟﺪى اﻷﻃﻔﺎل اﻟﺒﺪينين ﻗﺪرة مثانة أﻗﻞ من اﻷﻃﻔﺎل اﻵﺧﺮﻳﻦ.
  • الإمساك: غالباً ما يفاجأ الآباء عندما يلاحظون أنه عندما يتم علاج الإمساك عند أطفالهم يتوقف التبول اللاإرادي. دفع البراز في المستقيم يدفع ضد المثانة ويمكن أن يؤثر عليها بطريقتين. أولاً، يمكن أن يقلل من قدرة استيعاب المثانة ويؤثر على كيفية إفراغها من التبول. وثانياً، يمكن أن يؤثر الضغط على الإشارات العصبية، مما يخلق شعوراً بأن المثانة ممتلئة.
  • اضطراب الاستثارة: يشير هذا إلى عدم القدرة على الاستجابة لإشارات الجسم بأن الوقت قد حان للتبول. بدلا من ذلك ينام الطفل من خلالهم.
  • العوامل النفسية: بعد فترة من التوتر أو المشاكل النفسية أو التعرض لصدمة معينة، قد يصاب الطفل بسلس البول الليلي الثانوي أو عودة التبول اللاإرادي الذي تجاوزه.

علاج التبول اللاإرادي

أخصائيو المسالك البولية في نوفومد يتمتعون بالخبرة العالية في مساعدة الأطفال الذين يعانون من الأنواع البسيطة أو المعقدة من التبول اللاإرادي.

يختلف العلاج حسب عمر الطفل، تكرار التبول، تأثيره على الأسرة وأي أعراض قد تكون مرتبطة بالتبول اللاإرادي. توجد كل من العلاجات الدوائية والسلوكية لعلاج هذه الحالة، ولمكافحتها بشكل أفضل يمكن اتباع سلسلة من العلاجات التي ندمج فيها بين الطرق الدوائية والسلوكية.

اذا لم يتم تحديد السبب الطبي الأساسي وراء السلس البولي، يتم علاج التبول اللاإرادي الأساسي والثانوي بنفس الطريقة.

سيقدم أخصائيوا المسالك البولية في نوفومد المشورة بشأن ما يمكن فعله لإدارة هذه الحالة بأقل جهد ممكن عن طريق التدابير العملية التي يمكنك اتباعها.

من المهم أن تضع في اعتبارك أن التبول اللاإرادي ليس خطأ الطفل أو أحد الوالد. لا ينبغي لأحد أن يشعر بالحرج أو بالخجل من هذا الوضع. تحدث إلى أخصائي المسالك البولية الدكتور أمين كيلاني اليوم لمعرفة ما يمكن عمله لمساعدة طفلك.

احجز موعد

Bedwetting in Children & Adolescents

Bedwetting in Children & AdolescentsBedwetting or enuresis is defined as repeated, spontaneous voiding of urine during sleep in a child of five years or older. Children are said to have primary nocturnal enuresis if they have never managed to attain bladder control, and to have secondary enuresis if incontinence recurs after six months of dry nights.

While it is not a serious medical disorder, bedwetting can have a considerable impact on the lives of the children, affecting their self-esteem and socialization, and it can also cause stress in their families. The keys to resolving the issue are understanding and patience. The good news is that this problem often resolves itself over time.

When does bedwetting stop?

Most children (85%) stop wetting their beds from the age of three and before the age of six. This happens for two reasons. First, the bladder will send a signal to the brain saying that it is filling up with urine, and the brain will return a signal telling the bladder to relax so it can hold more urine. Second, if the bladder cannot hold all of the urine overnight, it will keep sending signals to the brain until the child wakes up to go to the bathroom.

Regarding the remaining children, bedwetting will occur if there is a delay in learning one or both of these skills. At what age should you worry?

Firstly, if your child has passed the age of five and still has permanent or frequent bedwetting, and he is bothered or embarrassed by the condition, it is worth visiting a urologist.

It is important to recognize that the process of urination is not under voluntary control, and parents should reassure the child that the bedwetting is not his or her fault. The communication signals in the nerve and muscle groups linking the brain to the bladder are very complicated, and this explains why bladder control improves with age as the child develops.

Secondly, if the child has reached school-age with enuresis, this usually justifies prompt intervention, particularly if enuresis is frequent and the child is depressed or distressed.

Causes of bedwetting

Most children do not have a disease process behind their bedwetting. However, formal studies have shown an increased risk in bedwetting if one, or particularly both, parents wet their beds when they were children. Primary nocturnal enuresis is caused by a disparity between bladder capacity and urine production, and failure of the child to wake up in response to a full bladder. The less-common secondary enuresis develops due to psychological or behavioral problems.
As we can see then, bedwetting is a complex phenomenon, and physical and psychological causes can include:

  • No decrease in urine production at night: The body releases vasopressin at night, and this hormone reduces the amount of urine the kidneys make. It is believed that some children’s bodies do not create enough of this hormone, leading to bedwetting.
  • Diminished bladder capacity: Bedwetting children often have a smaller bladder capacity than other children.
  • Constipation: Parents are often surprised to find that when constipation is treated, bedwetting stops. A build-up of stool in the rectum pushes against the bladder and can affect it in two ways. Firstly, it can lower the capacity of the bladder and affect how well it empties on urination. Secondly, the pressure can ‘confuse’ the nerve signals, creating the impression that the bladder is full.
  • Arousal disorder: This refers to an inability to respond to the body’s signals that it is time to urinate; instead the child sleeps through them.
  • Psychological factors: Following a period of stress, or alongside psychological problems or a trauma, a child may develop secondary nocturnal enuresis or a return of bedwetting they had outgrown.

Treatment of bedwetting

Urologists are skilled in helping children with both simple and complicated types of bedwetting.

Treatment will vary depending on how old the child is, the frequency of wetting, the impact on the family, and any symptoms that may be -associated with the bedwetting. Both pharmacological (medicines) and behavioral treatments exist. To better combat the problem, a combination of treatment modalities may be used if necessary. Unless an underlying medical cause is identified, primary and secondary bedwetting are treated the same way.

Our urologists will also be able to advise on what parents can do to reduce the stress related to nocturnal enuresis, and practical measures you can take to manage the condition.

It is important to keep in mind that bedwetting is not the fault of the child or the parent. No one should feel embarrassed or ashamed of the situation. Talk to urologist Dr Amin Kelani today to find out what can be done to help your child or adolescent.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT